The Essence of the Bujinkan

The Bugei jūhappan (武芸十八般 “Eighteen Kinds Of Martial Arts”) is a selection of combat techniques and corollary arts used by the samurai of Tokugawa-era Japan.

The Ninja Jūhakkei (the eighteen disciplines; 忍者十八形) were first identified in the scrolls of Togakure-ryū 戸隠流, or “School of the Hidden Door”, founded during the Oho period (1161–62) by one Daisuke Nishina (Togakure), who learned a life view and techniques (ninjutsu) from Kagakure Doshi.Togakure ryu Ninjutsu Hidensho is a manuscript in Hatsumi’s possession that is said to document Togakure-ryū. It is the purported origin of the “18 skills of Ninjutsu.”

Ninja jūhakkei was often studied along with Bugei jūhappan (the 18 samurai fighting art skills). Though some techniques were used in the same way by both samurai and ninja, others were used differently by the two groups. The 18 disciplines are:

Seishinteki kyōyō (spiritual refinement)
Koppojutsu Tajutsu (unarmed combat)
Kenpo (Swordsmanship)
Bōjutsu (longstaff)
Shuriken (throwing blades)
Kusarigama (chain and sickle )
Yari (spear)
Naginata (halbred)
Bajutsu (horsemanship)
Suiren (water training)
Kayakujutsu (pyrotechnics)
Hōryaku (tactics)
Chōhō (espionage)
Shinobi-iri (Infiltration)
Inton (Concealment)
Hensōjutsu (disguise)
Tenmon (meteorology)
Chi-mon (geography)

This is the Bujinkan Dojo.